Micronesia: Yap

Mu ta’ paam nga bu’ut
Respect the land, the people, and everything that comes with nature, and it will bring you richness and to your children in the future (Thin nu Waqab)

stone carvings

Yap State is one of the four states in the Federated States of Micronesia. Yap State includes the main island of Yap (Wa’ab or Yap Proper), which is actually the 4 tightly cluster islands of Marbaaq, Gagil-Tomil, Maap, and Rumung. Yap State also includes 12 atolls and 4 small islands — Nguluw, Sorol (uninhabited), Ulithi, Fais, Eauripik, Ifalik, Faraulep, Woleai, Lamotrek, Elato, Lamolior (uninhabited), Olimarao (uninhabited), Gaferut (uninhabited), Pikelot (uninhabited), West Fayu (uninhabited), and Satawal. About 35% of Yap State’s population lives in the outer islands.[1]

Official / Indigenous languages

Official / Indigenous languages

Thin nu Waqab (Yapese), Yal’ool Yiuldiy (Ulithian), Kepesaen Saetaewan (Satawalese), Kapetali Weleya (Woleaian)
* note: English is also widely spoken 

Common greetings in Thin nu Waqab (pdf)

population icon


11,377 (2010) [2]

school icon

Number of schools

58 schools in SY19-20
24 ECE, 29 elementary, 3 high schools, 2 multi-grade [3]

school icon

Number of students

3,011 in SY19-20 [4]

teachers icon

Number of teachers

388 teachers in SY19-20 [4]

teacher credentials icon

Teacher credentials

38% qualified; 0% certified in SY19-20
25% with high school diplomas
56% with associate’s degrees
17% with bachelor’s degrees
2% with advanced degrees [4]

higher education icon

Institutes of higher education

College of Micronesia Yap Campus offers associate degrees in elementary education, as well as certificates in liberal arts, health sciences, early childhood education, and trades.