American Sāmoa

O fānau a manu e fafaga i fugālāʻau, ʻae ʻo fānau a tagata e fafaga i ʻupu ma tala
The offspring of birds are fed with flower nectar, but the children of humans are nurtured with words and stories (Gagana Sāmoa)

islands in the ocean

American Sāmoa is part of the Sāmoa Islands chain and is the southernmost entity in the United States. It consists of five islands — Tutuila, Manuʻa, Ofu, Olosega, Tau, and Aunuʻu — and two coral atolls (Rose and Swains). Most of American Sāmoa’s population resides in Tutuila; Manuʻa is the second-most inhabited island in the territory. [1] Rose Atoll, the easternmost part of American Sāmoa, is uninhabited and managed as the Rose Atoll Marine National Monument.

Official / Indigenous languages

Official / Indigenous languages

Samoan (gagana Sāmoa), English
* note: most people are bilingual

Common greetings in gagana Sāmoa (pdf)

population icon


46,366 (est. July 2021) [1]

school icon

Number of schools

22 ECE (early childhood education) centers
23 elementary schools (K-8)
6 secondary schools (9-12) [2]

students icon

Number of students

11,329 total in SY18-19
7,600 in elementary; 3,579 in secondary [2]

teachers icon

Number of teachers

592 in SY18-19
400 for elementary; 192 for high school [2]

teacher credentials icon

Teacher credentials

3% proficient highly qualified
25% associate’s degree
44% bachelor’s degree
25% advanced degree [2]

higher education icon

Institutes of higher education

American Sāmoa Community College offers certificates and associate degrees in liberal arts, education, business, nursing, Samoan studies, languages, criminal justice, science, and trades.

For more information about the American Sāmoa Department of Education