2015 Pacific Educational Conference (PEC)

Majuro, Republic of the Marshall Islands: July 28-31, 2015

Opening Ceremony and Keynote Speakers

Thank you for your participation in the 29th Pacific Educational Conference (PEC), which was co-hosted by the Republic of the Marshall Islands Public School System (RMI PSS), the College of the Marshall Islands (CMI), and Pacific Resources for Education and Learning (PREL).

With 110 workshops, 7 plenary sessions, and 1017 participants, the 2015 PEC was the largest international event to be held in the Marshall Islands.

The opening ceremony featured speeches from keynote speakers the Honorable Christopher Loeak, President of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Dr. Chip Fletcher, an eminent climate change scientist, and Ms. Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner, a world renowned poet.

The 2015 Pacific Teacher of the Year Award recipients from American Samoa, Chuuk, Guam, Hawaii’i, Kosrae, Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Pohnpei, and Yap were also honored at the ceremony.